2014 Xitsonga music awards

After two successful back to back launches in Auckland Park in 2012 and 2013, Xitsonga music awards launch returned to Limpopo Province.

Event Schedule

8 Nov 2014   06:00 PM - 11:00 PM past event

Nkowankowa stadium

Tzaneen, Limpopo, South Africa.

Nominations for the 12th instalment of this powerful concept were unveiled today (18 September 2014) in Polokwane. As expected, the event was attended by heavyweights in business, politics and the music industry. Nominees will battle it out in 12 categories, including the newly introduced Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year category. Munghana Lonene fm and SABC took a decision last year to honour this legend by naming the category after him.

The Gospel Album Live Version category has been dropped due to lack of entries. For a genre to qualify to have a full category, it should have a minimum of three entries. Album of the year category has been replaced by Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year category. The station will also hand out 3 special awards. The late GT Chauke of Mapololo fame will be remembered posthumously. Legendary Xitsonga gospel group, Dwaro Rocks will receive the Living Legends’ award, while Sipho Hotstix Mabuse will be honored with “The Companion of Xitsonga music award”. Ray Chikapa Phiri was the inaugural recipient of this award last year.

Joe Shirimane leads the pack with 4 nominations. He is nominated under Best Xitsonga Duo/Group, Best Xitsonga Collaboration, Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year and Xitsonga Most Popular Song. He is followed by Colonel Mhlongo and Percy Mfana with 3 nominations each. The three are joined by Doctor Sithole, and Sesi na Sesi for Dr. Thomas Chauke Artist of the year Award. Do you remember Jonah Moyo of Devera Ngwena Jazz Band from Zimbabwe? He has been nominated under Risimu ra Mindzhumba ya Africa category. His song Devera Ngwena was a big hit in the SADC region in the early 80s. New kid on the block, Brian Bomba also took the nomination list by storm with two nominations.  He is nominated in the Best Xitsonga Newcomer category and will also battle it out with RnB heavy weights such as Moocah, Cloretta and Junior Mkhari for Best Xitsonga RnB crown.

“These awards are uniting the people of the continent. The fact that we have musicians from Mozambique and Zimbabwe nominated in these awards is a clear indication that they are not just growing in South Africa but in the continent as well. I am also impressed with the quality of Xitsonga RnB.” .Said Munghana Lonene fm station manager, James Shikwambana.

The station’s listeners are not left out. They will participate by voting for the Most Popular Song and they will also be part of the awards ceremony in November at Nkowankowa stadium. A ticket costs R70 at Computickets. A lucky listener stands a chance to win R12 000 and VIP experience if they buy a ticket before 14 October. All they need to do is to buy a ticket at computickets and sms the ticket number to 33124.

The awards presentation will be followed by a BIG music festival which will feature the cream of South African music such as Sipho Makhabane, Colbert Mukwevho, Ihashi Elimhlophe, Joe Shirimane na Vana va Ndoda, Penny Penny, Brian Bomba, Benny Mayengane and many more. The lineup will also feature the station’s popular presenter, DJ Brian and producer Magubane Da Franchize.  

“As promised by my predecessor last year, the district municipality remains committed to these awards as you can see we are part of the awards for the next three years. The awards play a big role in ensuring that musicians continue to produce quality music.” Said Mopani District Municipality Executive Mayor, Nkakareng Rakgoale.

All Competitions

Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)



Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

Complementary Content

Your Name:*

Your Email:*

Your Message:*

Enter Captcha:*